Towns Online  
UK - France - Spain - Switzerland - Turkey

Image by cesarastudillo on Flickr

Spain > Castile-La Mancha

Castile-La Mancha is an autonomous community of Spain.

Castile-La Mancha is bordered by Castile and León, Madrid, Aragon, Valencia, Murcia, Andalusia, and Extremadura. It is one of the most sparsely populated of Spain's autonomous communities.

Its capital city is Toledo, and its most populous city is Albacete.
Castile-La Mancha was formerly grouped with the province of Madrid into New Castile ("Castilla la Nueva"), but with the advent of the modern Spanish system of semi-autonomous regions ("las autonomías"), it was separated due to great demographic disparity between the capital and the remaining New-Castilian provinces. Also, compared to the former New Castile, Castile-La Mancha add the province of Albacete, which had been part of Murcia; adding Albacete placed all of La Mancha within this single region.

It is mostly in this region where the story of the famous Spanish novel Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes is situated - due to which La Mancha is internationally well-known. Although La Mancha is a windswept, battered plateau, it remains a symbol of the Spanish culture with its sunflowers, mushrooms, oliveyards, windmills, Manchego cheese, and Don Quixote.

Add as a favourite:


Search Local Hotels

Check-in date

Check-out date


Castile-La Mancha Location

Spain Map


Spain Facts and Population

Area: 79,463 sq. km
Admin HQ: Toledo
Population: 2,043,100 (2009 est.)



Castile-La Mancha Weather


© Towns-Online 1997-2010. Towns-Online is a Future Interactive company